Labor Day, 2017, and I Lovingly Labor!

Jan 2017 Headshot 2

Yes, this is Labor Day.  It used to be as a single parent, that this was the Last Hurrah Day of Summer with two little boys off to the YMCA Perry Recreation Center in Lake County, Ohio, where we had a total membership being one of the most economical ways to entertain the boys throughout the year.  We also had over time season memberships for Sea World and other fun, healthy places.  As a parent, and I know all parents would agree, Labor Day was a day to nurture and care for your children.  There were Labor Days when it rained all day, but we still tried to make it to the pool one last time!

Do I miss those days?  Not really.  I have two grown sons, one of whom lives near the Gulf of Mexico in Florida and one who is in Chicago with his family for the weekend.  Now, my Labor Day, at least this year, is one in which I am feeling damn lucky and damn good.  I moved to the city I wanted to live in — Oberlin, Ohio–a place of freedom and diversity to be who you are, no matter what that might be.  It is a town that is small enough to know lots of people and large enough, especially with Oberlin College, that you can be solitary and anonymous when you want that.  Today culminates in one way six months of realigning me and my company Empower Excellence into The Empower Excellence Experience.  I have hinted at many pieces of that over the months, and I am trying to be very focused with the blog and its relationship to that reality of what it all represents:  Personal Sustainability.  There will be more and more coming through in the days ahead.

But, above all, all of this is to be of service to people who really want to find their life, their joy, and their freedom in their lives.  They want to be authentic, they want to be genuine, they want to be happy, they want to be joyful, they want to be healthy in all parts of their life:  spiritual, nutritional in all ways, chemical free in their homes, in their personal lives, and in their choices in living.  This all started with the desire to help everyone who wants help in this area to be financially well with their money.  This is the foundation that allows all to be Personally Sustainable.  You have to be at peace with the money in your life–no matter the amount as this is a personal choice, not everyone wants to be rich–in order to be at peace with any other area.  This is important because all pieces of our lives are connected.  More than that, we are connected to each other. So, it is important, you see, to begin with the smallest component, and that is each one of us.  That is YOU!

Over time, I thought financial wellness was my mission, but I soon learned that there is more for me in this life purpose and mission.  Getting the money in line is important, BUT…

  • People, once ok with their money relationship may still be lost in other areas of their lives.  I cannot be all things to all people, but I can help in some basic matters.
  • Over the years, I knew I had a passion for healthy eating beginning with my children and then helping local food entrepreneurs and then it went on and on for me to become as knowledgeable as I could about eating, cooking, and growing healthy food.
  • But it went on, as I learned about chemical free living…personal care products, home care products, and cosmetics, fragrances, and other personal grooming choices that may not be healthy for any of us.
  • How can people wisely spend their money while enjoying their lives in all of these areas.
  • How can local investment dollars be placed into the growth of local entrepreneurs and local companies wisely.
  • While there is more, I am more focused than I have been, and Financial wellness
  • expertiserefer people to experts when I cannot solve their individual situation.
  • But, more than anything, money is what allows us to make the best choices in all of the above areas, and that is where I start. 

While I have been doing this blog for several years, I do not think I have ever thought of placing my photograph on it to identify me, the talking head behind all of this craziness and some wisdom that all of you have seen over that time.  And today, being Labor Day, I wanted to say “Hello” in person in the form of a photo.  Thank you for reading my pieces, and please do feel free to comment, for the ego went away a long time ago–maybe when I was still that younger single parent.  I would love to see each of you, and I do try to keep up with following those who follow me.  

And a few words, I do not pretend to know everything I write about, but I am definitely an expert through education and life experience in Personal Sustainability.  I love my life, my family, my spirituality, my health, and my environment all the way from my belief in good government to the beauty of being able to work in my office looking out on a treed backyard, hearing the wind rustle through the trees, and seeing the light of the sun and the moon play in the shadows  of my life.

Leave a Reply

