Forty Years of Eating “Healthy”…

Supermarket Handbook

1975 was a good year!  It was the year my oldest son was born, and it was the year I discovered THE SUPERMARKET HANDBOOK written by Nikki and David Goldbeck.  But 40 plus years is a long time, and my $1.95 paperback copy must have disappeared or disintegrated over the years…

No matter, in the mail today arrived a 1976 edition of the book, a paperback which had appreciated over 200%, still reasonable over the years.  I am thrilled to have this book because among other things it is one of the first memories my son has of my reading this book as we went through the grocery store.  “Butter vs. Margarine” is the chapter he remembers to this day.  By the way, he went on and graduated from the Pittsburgh Institute of Culinary Arts.  I am thrilled to have the book here in my life as I am focusing on Personal Sustainability and healthy eating.

It is not often that I go in search of a 40+ year old book, but this one is special.  The authors, Nikki and David Goldbeck, are to be applauded.  This is just as much of a favorite to me as the book GAMES MOTHER NEVER TAUGHT YOU!  For different reasons, but there are just books that are meant to be a part of your life and, possibly, your legacy.

THE SUPERMARKET HANDBOOK will be one of those books.  I am sure that it will be close by until the day of my dying breath at age 104 or older!  Check it out.  It is well worth your time to learn why this book will last forever.

Leave a Reply

