There Can be Joy in Doing Nothing!

tranquility-a-result-of-joy

This is a weekend of mindless activity which does bring joy…

The last two months have been spent preparing to move to Oberlin, moving to Oberlin, and unpacking and getting back to my business in Oberlin!  

It has also been filled with balance of friends and family with one-year old Kurt,Jr.’s birthday for family, Nicole and the boys’ visit to Oberlin as well as my friend from South Carolina’s visit.  And a good 12 hour stay with the boys in Lyndhurst.  

The business has also been put back on track after the move including two programs with the City of Cleveland and more with clients and future sessions scheduled!  Plus The Empower Excellence Experience is in an expansion mode as I have started the use of Biocell from Modere so that I can begin using that in the “longevity” sector of my business.  Also, it is the plan for Tuesday to begin the “Pampered Chef”-“healthy” portion for Nutrition this coming week.

This week will also be an initial meeting with the pastor of First Church to discuss the potential for The Practice at Oberlin.  This is a non-revenue generating part of The Empower Excellence Experience.

Just talking about this past month makes me tired.  But this week I prepped for a week of hibernation bringing in food from Trader Joe’s and Heinen’s.  Once the growing season here in the Oberlin area produces local fruits and vegetables, I will be shopping at the Farmers’ Market.  But this morning was spent cooking for the week since this will be a working week HERE IN OBERLIN.  And I am excited.  The weather today is in the mid 50’s after a real snowstorm in Oberlin yesterday and flood warnings here today!  The window sills have been cleaned, and the windows are open.  After prepping fresh brewed iced coffee, stir frying onions and mushrooms for chicken in the slow cooker later this week, prepping brown rice for rice and beans later this week, prepping fresh organic strawberries and watermelon, organic blueberries for snacking, and cooking stuffed cabbage in the slow cooker for this evening and tomorrow, I am sitting down to work, and it will continue all week with few interruptions.  

BOSS BABY is at the Apollo, a mere .5 mile walk and I will see that this week.  Balance!

Why am I sharing all of this?  Because I love working, and there comes a time when my brain goes into “stop” mode and that happened yesterday!  All of us need to recognize that as we are on our path to Empowerment and Excellence.

This weekend, after cleaning up with my daughter-in-law’s Norwex products, please do ask me about them because I am now a believer in how they will save me time, money, and keep chemicals out of my home, and then cooking my heart out–it is relaxing and I love looking at the deli in my refrigerator for the next week without having to figure out what to eat–and the windows are clean and open—I AM HOME!

I do love my new home in Oberlin, and I am finding my place slowly and surely.  I am actually trusting a local professional with part of my monthly routine on Wednesday!  That is trust!

Find your place on your path, and find your HOME, no matter where or how it is.  You will know you are HOME when you find JOY in doing nothing of any substance!

Leave a Reply

