It Was Supposed To Be My “luckiest day of the year”! Really?

Darkest before the dawn

THIS WEEK HAS BEEN ONE MORE WEEK OF CRAZY BUSYNESS, AND YESTERDAY TOPPED IT OFF.  NO, I REALLY TOPPED IT OFF WITH MY FIRST BAG OF POTATO CHIPS (NOT THE WHOLE BAG) FOR THE FIRST TIME IN PROBABLY FOUR MONTHS…  THAT KIND OF CRAZY!  AND I HAVE NO REGRETS.  MY MORNING WAS OK WITH THE NORMAL TRAFFIC DELAYS MAKING ME LATE FOR A MORNING MEETING.  ON TO ANOTHER MEETING WHICH WAS REALLY NONEVENTFUL.  TWO INFORMAL MEETINGS WERE GOOD BUT BROUGHT OUT VENTED UP FRUSTRATIONS FROM EARLIER IN THE WEEK.  

  • AND THEN THE AFTERNOON BEGAN:
  • FRUSTRATION ON MANY PLATFORMS
  • LAB RESULTS WHICH WERE GOOD, AND I EMAILED THE DOCTOR TO FIND OUT HOW THAT HAPPENED
  • THE DOCTOR DOES NOT LOOK AT MY CHART BEFORE RESPONDING, AND THIS RESPONSE WAS NO DIFFERENT.  TOTALLY CONDESCENDING AND FRUSTRATING.  I SENT A SECOND QUESTION, AND HER RESPONSE THREW ME OVER THE EDGE:  “IF IMPROVING, DON’T WORRY ABOUT IT”.  EXCUSE ME?
  • SAME HEALTH CARE PROVIDER, WHOM I HAVE REALLY LIKED FOR TWO YEARS, BUT I RECEIVED AN EMAIL MESSAGE ABOUT A LAB APPOINTMENT FOR THE PREVIOUS DAY AT A DIFFERENT TIME THAN WHEN I WAS ALREADY THERE.  NO ONE IN CUSTOMER SERVICE COULD EXPLAIN WHAT IT WAS FOR AND WHY I GOT IT.  THEY SENT ME TO THE LAB WHERE I WAS TOLD “THE NEW SYSTEM GENERATES A NEW EMAIL AFTER YOU HAVE BEEN HERE AND YOUR BLOOD SAMPLES HAVE BEEN COMPLETED.”  WHAT?  THE EMAIL TOLD ME I MISSED AN APPOINTMENT!
  • FRUSTRATION LED ME TO SCHEDULING AN APPOINTMENT WITH MY HOLISTIC DOCTOR…I AM PHASING OUT OF THE TRADITIONAL MEDICINE SCENE ONCE AGAIN….
  • WAITED ON LINE FOR A CONFERENCE CALL THAT WAS MISHANDLED — 20 MINUTES OF MY LIFE GONE!
  • REMEMBERED THAT YESTERDAY WAS THE 26TH, AND MY CREDIT CARD BILL WAS DUE ON THE 24TH–OK, THAT WAS MONDAY, AND IT WAS MY FIRST DAY WITH MY GRANDSON ALL DAY AT THE START OF THE NEW SCHOOL YEAR.  TOTALLY NEVER THOUGHT ABOUT IT OVER THE WEEKEND OR ON MONDAY–THEY REFUNDED THE LATE FEE BECAUSE I HAVE NEVER BEEN LATE WITH A PAYMENT WITH THEM!  THANK YOU, GOD!
  • RECEIVED A CALL RIGHT AFTER COMPLETING THE CALL FROM MY CREDIT CARD COMPANY(?) FROM “CARD MEMBER SERVICES” USING A LOCAL CELL NUMBER THAT I “QUALIFY FOR A MUCH LOWER INTEREST RATE.  PLEASE PRESS “9” TO TALK WITH THE APPROPRIATE REPRESENTATIVE.”  OMG, SCAM, SCAM, SCAM.  WHEN ASKED HOW THEY GOT MY NUMBER SINCE THERE WAS NO OPT OUT FEATURE, THE SCAM REP HUNG UP ON ME.   TRIED CALLING BACK, THE CALL AUTOMATICALLY DISCONNECTS.  FILED AN FTC COMPLAINT ON LINE.  THEY WILL BE SORRY FOR THAT CALL.
  • WENT TO THE GROCERY DELIBERATELY FOR FLAVORED SELTZER WATER THAT I TRIED, LOVED, AND THEY HAVE BEEN OUT OF IT FOR A WEEK, AND FOR THE POTATO CHIPS BECAUSE THE DAY WAS ENDING!  THEY DID NOT HAVE THE FLAVOR, I DID BUY THE CHIPS, AND I BOUGHT ICE CREAM JUST TO MAKE SURE I COULD MAKE IT THROUGH THE NIGHT.
  • WHILE THERE WAS MORE, I AM STOPPING, I HAVE VENTED.  

NONE OF THIS HAD ANYTHING TO DO DIRECTLY WITH MONEY, BUT THEN AGAIN IT HAD EVERYTHING TO DO WITH MONEY BECAUSE MONEY IS INVOLVED IN EVERYTHING…THIS WAS ALL ABOUT STRESS, WHICH I KNOW HAD A DIRECT HEALTH EFFECT ON ME.  MY BLOOD GLUCOSE LEVELS WERE HIGHER THAN NORMAL THIS MORNING FROM THE STRESS AND THE CHIPS.  NO MORE…WHEN THE DAY BECOMES THIS FRUSTRATING,

I AM HEADING TO THE BEACH!

http://www.empowerexcellencewithjan.com

Leave a Reply

