MY SECOND CHILDHOOD IS HERE….OMG!

Silly Senior, You Should Have Done This When You Were a Child!

Silly Senior, You Should Have Done This When You Were a Child!

Child on a trikeBUT WHEN I WAS A CHILD, THERE WERE THINGS AS A CHILD I WAS NOT ENCOURAGED TO DO.  I WAS ENCOURAGED TO BE A “LITTLE ADULT”.

WHEN I SIT DOWN TO DO MY DAILY BLOG, MANY, IN FACT MOST, TIMES, I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT MY TOPIC WILL BE.  UNTIL I LOOK AT HOW I WANT TO ILLUSTRATE IT, AND THEN IT COMES TO LIFE.

IT IS MOST AMAZING THAT I CHOSE TO ILLUSTRATE THIS BLOG WITH A YOUNG CHILD RIDING HIS TRICYCLE AND A SENIOR IN HIS SECOND CHILDHOOD RIDING A TRICYCLE.  FEAR IS ON THE FACE OF THE CHILD WHILE EXHILARATION IS ON THE FACE OF THE SENIOR!

SO MUCH OF WHAT WE LEARN AS CHILDREN IS FEAR-BASED:

  • DON’T GET HIT BY A CAR MAKES US HESITANT TO BE CONFIDENT CROSSING THE STREET!
  • DON’T TALK TO STRANGERS MAKES US HESITANT TO VENTURE OUT TO MAKE NEW FRIENDS!
  • DON’T LEAVE THE YARD!
  • PLAY ON THE SAFE SIDE!

AND IT IS IN ALL PARTS OF OUR LIFE:

  • DON’T SPEND YOUR MONEY ON THAT!
  • MEN ALL WANT ONE THING!
  • GIRLS GO TO COLLEGE JUST TO MEET A HUSBAND!
  • GOOD GIRLS LIVE AT HOME UNTIL THEY GET MARRIED!
  • WE DON’T HAVE MONEY FOR THAT!
  • GIRLS DON’T PLAY SPORTS!

AND ON AND ON…IT TAKES US A LARGE PART OF OUR ADULT LIVES TO REALIZE THAT WHAT WE LEARN AS CHILDREN, RIGHT OR WRONG, IS IMPRINTED ON US FOREVER.  WE CAN CHOOSE TO UNDERSTAND OUR CHILDHOOD AND ATTEMPT TO TURN IT AROUND AND ENJOY LIFE.  THAT IS WHAT LIFE IS FOR, TO UNDERSTAND WHAT OUR CHOSEN MISSION IS AND TO LIVE LIFE TO THE FULLEST….ONCE WE GET OVER WHAT EVERYONE ELSE IMPRINTED ON US.

KELLY CLARKSON CAPTURED THESE FEELINGS FOR ME IN HER SONG “BECAUSE OF YOU”.  THIS SONG STILL BRINGS ME TO TEARS; WATCH THE VIDEO AND IT IS A GOOD CATHARTIC CRY!  VERY HEALTHY!

AS I WORK ON MY “ADULT CHILD” , THERE ARE TIMES WHEN I AM SUCCESSFUL ON CHANGING MY PATTERNS ONE AT A TIME, BUT THEN I AM ALMOST LOST BECAUSE I HAVE CHANGED MY STRUCTURE, THE STRUCTURE I HAVE NEEDED TO KEEP MY LIFE UNDER CONTROL.  THEN I FEEL LIKE THE EMOTIONS IN “BECAUSE OF YOU.”  I AM SO TORN THAT I WANT TO GO BACK TO MY VERY STRUCTURED LIFE…KNOWING THAT THE STRUCTURED LIFE I HAVE CONSTRUCTED OVER MY LIFE HAS KEPT ME “PLAY(ING) ON THE SAFE SIDE”, “NEVER WANDERING TOO FAR FROM THE SIDEWALK”.

BUT I WILL GET THROUGH THE TEARS, I WILL LEARN NOT TO BE AFRAID, AND I WILL LEARN TO TRUST NOT ONLY ME BUT EVERYONE ELSE…

FUNNY THING, MANY WHO KNOW ME VIEW ME AS A “RISK TAKER”.  ANOTHER TRAIT OF AN ADULT CHILD, WE ARE RISK TAKERS, IT IS MY WAY OF OVERCOMPENSATING FOR THE FEAR!

AS FAR AS BICYCLES, THERE SITS IN MY GARAGE A GREAT BICYCLE THAT I WAS LEARNING TO TAKE ON AS A CHALLENGE TO RIDE AGAIN…THAT WAS TWO YEARS AGO.  THAT WAS SHORT-LIVED AS I DISLOCATED MY SHOULDER, NOT ON THE BIKE, BUT ON THREE STEPS IN MY HOME.  THE ADMONITION FROM THE MEDICAL PEOPLE WHO PUT ME BACK TOGETHER….”STAY OFF THE BIKE!’  OF COURSE, THEY DID NOT MEAN FOREVER, BUT THEY PUT THE FEAR OF RE-INJURY IN MY HEART, AND THE PAIN OF THAT INJURY REMINDS ME EVERY TIME I GO TO PUMP UP THE TIRES AND RIDE….MAYBE THE CHILDHOOD EXHILARATION OF BEING AN ADULT WILL RETURN, AND YOU WILL SEE MY PHOTO RIDING THAT GREAT GREEN BIKE DOWN THE UNKNOWN ROAD!

WWW.EMPOWEREXCELLENCEWITHJAN.COM

empower excellence logo_no text

2 thoughts on “MY SECOND CHILDHOOD IS HERE….OMG!

Leave a Reply

